top of page
  • Writer's pictureDr. Lauretta Stombaugh

Am I Like That Boy?

I was watching the movie, "Wonder Boy", with my 4 year old son. This movie

depicts the struggles and triumphs of a young boy with Treacher-Collins: a rare,

genetic disorder with disfiguring facial manifestations. He glared up at

me with his big, brown eyes and innocently asked, "am I like that boy?" I reflected on

the question for a moment and while my first thought was to answer, "no you aren't",

the one that came to me was, "yes you are just like him." I explained that regardless of

what we look like, most of us are similar with respect to our needs, abilities and our

desire to be loved. My son, with his symmetrical face, long dark eyelashes and perfectly

placed jawline, will have triumphs and struggles of his own. As a mother, I can only

hope that the struggles are few and far between and that they provide valuable

lessons for his life ahead. The triumphs, hopefully will guide him and keep him humble

at the same time. We, as parents need to embrace our child's differences whether

physical or emotional. Utilize them to bring confidence and humility. Gracefully guide

our sons and daughters through this complicated world of bullying, dysfunction and

greed. I find it difficult when I see teens who bully as well as those with drug

addictions, eating disorders, depression, mood disorders and poor relationships. I think

this is because I know that some of these children started their lives in loving

households with intentional parents. We are not untouchable. We are not truly in

control of our children's future nor should we be. But it is unnerving when I realize how little our enormous efforts now can fail us later. What can we do to raise genuine, kind

teens? Teens who do not judge others for their differences, physical or otherwise.

Teens who invite the peer sitting alone to join their lunch group. Teens who will step in

assertively between the bully and the bullied. Parenting is hard. I may not do everything

"right" or "by the book", however, when it comes to my children, I will always

aim to raise them to be gracious, kind and nonjudgemental. Hopefully, they will find

the common threads among them, their peers, colleagues and loved

ones.


138 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Leaping Into The Double Digits

As our children transition from children to preadolescents (the early double digits), a whole new world of uneasiness can arise for them and for us. Will they be strong enough to find their voice and

The Last Class

There is almost nothing sweeter than a toddler in pink tights and a matching bodysuit fluttering around in her first dance class. For most, it is the first time that they are in a group activity, foll

bottom of page